Job Hunting
In Work
Thinking About Quitting
Tools
Community
Shop

fake reference??

fake reference, can anyone find out ?

I've got a huge dilemma. I was made redundant about 18 months ago from a Programming job. The job was with a large blue-chip company which looks pretty good on my cv. However, I hated the job and was disillusioned with the industry as a whole.

So I thought I'd take some time off and change my career. Did some music production/song writing and stuff. But now I've run out of money and I need a job. I figured it would be easier to go back into programming again and just brush up on my skills. However I have a HUGE 18 month gap on my CV. Even though i have a degree, with 7 years experience in my field. Agency's that I have managed to speak to (that dont like responding ..) have basically said the 18 month gap is too much, and I fear no ones going to even give me an interview.

One of my friends has an IT firm and is willing to give me a reference. I've just got to say I worked there for 1 a year or so on my Cv. And that should sort out the problems and get me some interviews. However, I'm worried about a new employer asking me for a P45. If I said my friends job was a contract would a new employer still ask for a P45 or a similar form? Basically, can I get found out?

Thanks in advance ..

albsure

18/02/2006 16:49:29

It's difficult to live with a lie. Just put the truth on your CV saying exactly why you left and what you did during the 18 months. See how it goes. It might work to your advantage as opposed to a blank gap.

Fruity

18/02/2006 16:55:08

Originally posted by albsure:
I've got a huge dilemma. I was made redundant about 18 months ago from a Programming job. The job was with a large blue-chip company which looks pretty good on my cv. However, I hated the job and was disillusioned with the industry as a whole.