Job Hunting
In Work
Thinking About Quitting
Tools
Community
Shop

I have handed in my resignation - without a new job lined up

I have handed in my resignation - without a new job lined up

This is going to sound crazy in the current economic climate, but I handed in my resignation to my current employer and will be working my 1 month notice period - but I do not have a new job lined up.

I have been working for 13 years and never did this, it is an act of desparation by now - I have tried to tolerate this job for 18 months and it has been hell at times: it's affected my physical and mental health and I have suddenly had enough.

The reason I am posting this on here, is that I am concerned that if I do not find a new job within 1 month, how am I going to explain to potential new employers why I left my last job without having a new one lined up?

I can't help but think they are going to suspect negative reasons and question deeply - I can hardly say that I was physically ill for 2 weeks caused by doing the work of 4 people for months and quit to safeguard my health.....

Has anyone been in this position? Were you just honest to a potential new employer or did you dream up an excellent story?

Thanks, hope you can help me.

Jimbo1979

20/01/2010 19:10:29

Whilst you could dream up a story such as going traveling, or looking after a sick relative, remember that future employers will want to take up a reference, probably with your current employers.

Florence

20/01/2010 19:34:47

Been there...Done that

Hi